Sunday Breaks.

Sunday morning and my wife is making french toast while WBGO is playing in the background. Cup of coffee on the table. The fire hydrants have been on all night. Nobody shut them off. The city is roasting. I’m stuck in the middle of a book wondering how the hell I got here. Looking at reviews from the old one and trying not to look but can’t help but looking. It’s a loop I can’t get out of. The themes I’m looking to get at – the stuff of what it means to be caught in a time of transition – it’s something amazing I think because you never know. You never know what the last moment of something is going to be. Every moment is the last of something. You can only realize that if you look backwards.

Leave a Reply

