Dominos at 2:47 A.M.

I can’t believe they kept pace with me last night. Up to late getting these new edits done, the folks across the street didn’t waiver at all. They didn’t let the fact that their kid was screaming to go inside – it was a long game but perhaps it was just to keep everyone on the sidewalk. Who knows. Nice to have some company in those late hours. No music, just the sound of those dominos being slapped down. The little girl though, I could tell, she wanted to go home.

Interesting writing this one in the voice of a woman – I wonder if it’s going to hold up all the way through. Nothing really ever does – such an organic type of thing to write a beast like this because the book itself starts to dictate what it wants to be. Amazing.

The rain never came, which means the block is going to be loud this weekend – I have my head down and am just taking the time to try to get this next one done – over and out. Keep getting calls from teachers who are interested in putting LBIH in their classrooms, so I have to find a way to make that happen. Should be something that these kids can read and digest and not bring in too much of what they believe to be true in there. Have to read again – have to practice going up and reading a little something each week so I don’t get stale, but to tell you the truth I’m not worried about that. I don’t practice it much, just let it go when I’m up there. The music helps me get it through, that is the truth.

Leave a Reply

